Thoughts

14 Jul

sheep-wolf-shadow

Today my brother starts the first of 12 cycles of Folfox chemotherapy, we shared jovial texts this morning.  I can’t imagine how he is feeling or how he is going to feel in the weeks ahead.

I do know that without the NHS he wouldn’t be able to afford the treatment so I am extremely thankful that it still exists.

It’s weird, but I am feeling a curious mix of introspection and extrospection.  The minutiae of life seem as overwhelming as the largese of existence.  I’m musing on whether we are what we perceive ourselves to be, or whether we are what the sum of our actions have made us.  Is it neither or both?

Humanity is such a weird thing, we exist in our own thoughts and those who think about us, is this temporal?

I grieve for so many things that I feel are unjust in the world, they affect me and the way I behave.  Do I only *care* about injustice because of the sense of righteousness is gives me?  Would it be easier to be callously uncaring: robotic?  Possibly, but that would be denying part of what I feel makes me me.

Why am I feeling my brother’s chemo more from the perspective of its impact on me and my children than my brother?  Why does that change within any given moment?

Why do questions like that comfort me more than concrete answers?

Whatever is happening in your world today I hope you find peace,  today all I can manage is chaos

Namasté

Jules

5 Responses to “Thoughts”

  1. retiredandangry Jul 14, 2015 at 8:21 am #

    Whatever the answers to your questions, I wish your brother well

  2. maxjfreeman Jul 14, 2015 at 6:46 pm #

    Love this piece Jules. Its ok to question our motives isnt it? Whatever brings us peace. I hope your brother gets on well with the chemo Jules,and though I don’t know him, if it was me, I’d really appreciate someone sending jovial messages, rather than maudlin, (though sincere), best wishes.

    Stay safe sister.

    • julieanneda Jul 14, 2015 at 7:07 pm #

      Thanks Max, he did and I appreciate your comment, feels like I’m being both heard and understood.
      I tend to question everything: I find the thought trains that accompany questioning a comfort, certainties seem so *rigid*

  3. traveller47 Jul 14, 2015 at 9:18 pm #

    I have often asked myself that question Julie-Anne, especially when I have lost somebody I cared for. I came to the conclusion that perhaps I was thinking more about ME losing somebody than of the person themselves. It’s a really difficult subject….but then you do keep bringing up difficult subjects making us think when we much prefer that warm cotton woolly felling of lethargy.

    • julieanneda Jul 14, 2015 at 9:21 pm #

      Thank you Stephen, you know me: question everything, especially yourself 😊

Leave a comment

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes

"Who shall guard the guards?" Juvenal, Satires

London Cottage Garden

Blogging about cottage garden style in a town garden

ianswalkonthewildside

Ian Rotherham's Blog

Glebe House Garden

My week to week gardening diary

Life on both sides of the cell door

The story of my time working for HMP and then becoming a prisoner

Slavery was bad, okay?

These are the sorts of conversations I'm having in the 21st century. So I'm writing some of them down here for you.

Counter Information

Uncovering the mainstream media lies

secular detective

Attempting a rational exploration of the issues of our time

Katyboo1's Weblog

The random jottings of a woman called Katy

The Heritage Journal

The Journal has been maintained since March 2005 to promote awareness and the conservation of the incomparable but often-threatened heritage sites of Britain, Ireland and beyond.

Stop UK lies & corruption

Can you afford not to see what your leaders are up to?

Expat In Bacolod

Stephen Bentley - Writer

Nick Lyall Raptor PPDG

Blogs from the Chair of the National Raptor Persecution PDG

TIm Lott's Writing Blog

Thoughts on writing fiction and being around on the planet

Bramble Garden

Country gardener nurturing people, plants - and wildlife

archiflex

The strong tree bends and does not break--Laozi

F Yeah History

History...but better

Lothar Birkner

the author Lothar Birkner writes about literature and current topics

Robin M. Eames

poet, historian

Belfast Child

Remembering the Victims

The Chi Gardener

Channelling my chi energy, through the power of plants.

UPROXX

The Culture Of Now

Heavy.com

Sports News & Information

Ed Mayo's Blog

the power of co-operation

adrenalin ghosts

dreams and thoughts

Read After Burnout

Adventures in Everyday Madness Continuing

Duckweed Gardening

Sustainable backyard production of duckweed for feed, fuel, and fertilizer

Wetlands Steve

heritage and wildlife engagement.

Morgan S. Ray

Breaking The Rules

EDS and Chronic Pain News & Info

Curated News and Information on Chronic Pain and Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome

TalkPolitics

Reshaping Our Democracy

Dramatic Debi

“Who in the world am I? Ah, that's the great puzzle.” ― Lewis Carroll, Alice in Wonderland

PainPalsBlog

My family and friends living with me.....and chronic illness

craftyinsomniac

A disabled insomniac who crafts!!!!

susanlarsonauthor

The pretty good books of Susan Larson

There are still battles to be fought

A periodic blog on matters health, union, social justice, and the occasional random rant

JimHind

Where discussion starts.....

thechattyzebra

Discovering we don't think inside the box or outside the box. We don't even know where the box is

Discordant Daydream

A vent of life's problems and delights

Grenfell Action Group

Working to defend and serve the Lancaster West community