Cake

16 Nov

 Screenshot_2013-10-30-20-36-08-1

I had an interesting chat with some twit friends this morning regarding volunteers.   They highlighted some issues specifically police orientated.  Then the words police family came up to highlight the fact only police would be able to understand.  That’s fine. The police I speak to wish to receive our support as * members of the public* yet I have found a recurring theme amongst most police: one of separation.

I engage personally, professionally and on social media with many in the emergency services and armed forces. I have never been a member of any of them so I appreciate that I can never, ever comprehend what it feels like to be in an environment like that where closer bonds than brotherhood are forged. I know those bonds are tangible.

I have noticed that all reach out and try to encourage greater acceptance and support from the wider community which I have been able to offer. They all patiently explain my daftest questions and never make me feel foolish despite ample ammunition!

One thing puzzles me though: despite trying really hard to find out as much as possible to help bridge gaps the vast majority of police officers seem to have a default setting where they metaphorically reach out with one hand and slap down with a velvet gloved hand to any assistance even tentatively proffered by anyone who has not been in their family. The other services don’t appear to do this. I have observed it to other people not just myself. My question is why?

What is so peculiarly specific to the Police that this mindset prevails?

Obviously not every individual is like that but I do encounter it many times.

The Police are in dire need of support. For whatever reason they are not able to speak out due to the explicit nature of the restraints in their employment and federation.  Logic would say to me foster as much help and understanding from outside to be your advocates as possible.

Why do you sabotage that?

What do you think will happen if you as an organisation keep on highlighting  differences to the populace not your similarities?

On the one hand you say the police ARE the public on the other you hold invisible riot shields to keep your suppoters back.

Many will give up trying to understand and help because it is so frustrating.

I will not because I care and believe in the Peelian Principles.  You may not want my support, well tough, its bigger than just you and I.

Just  remember that saying *you can’t have your cake and eat it*

Choose and chose your path forward wisely

Jules

2 Responses to “Cake”

  1. hantspcmark November 22, 2013 at 2:58 am #

    Interesting blog Jules. I have seen and completely understand what you are saying. Here in America where I am at the moment, as you know, the problem is worse. The police are really shut down to any outside support and to the many officers I have now met, none really seem that bothered by it.

    I was in court the other day listening to a Gang Expert giving evidence for the defense. He was asked by the DA: “It appears you only seem to offer evidence in support of the defense Dr….” the Dr interjected and explained he would be more than happy to help law enforcement with his expertise on gang culture but the police never seem to be interested in listening to academics……….

    I think we are slowing getting better in the UK but more needs to be done. As you have seen I for one feel it is high time we forget feeling we are the only ones who know what’s best for the community, victims and offenders; especially young people. We have very much fostered an isolationist community in the UK and shouldn’t be surprised that people would rather close their certains and ignore problems going outside rather than have some part in making the situation better. We need to listen more and we need to empower people more to become involved in our work. I am not saying we just have Mrs Dorris at number 92 join Detectives at a murder scene to help break it down however community problems are problems not just for us to tackle but for the community and rather than slapping hands away – we should be snatching them off!

    • julieanneda November 22, 2013 at 3:06 am #

      Thanks Mark for taking the time to comment and for being so open to understanding what I meant. So many ways that collaborative working could improve so many things. I am honoured you responded.
      Enjoy the rest of your time stateside, as you know I have great admiration for your work xx

Leave a Reply

Pain Pals

My family & friends living with me.....and chronic illness

craftyinsomniac

A disabled insomniac who crafts!!!!

susanlarsonauthor

The pretty good books of Susan Larson

We won! But the battle's not over

Once a nurses' countdown to the 2014 Victorian election, now a periodic blog on matters health, union, social justice, and the occasional random rant

JimHind

Where discussion starts.....

thechattyzebra

Discovering we don't think inside the box or outside the box. We don't even know where the box is

Embrace The Brace

How To Live With Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome

Discordant Daydream

A vent of life's problems and delights

Grenfell Action Group

Working to defend and serve the Lancaster West community

gardeninacity

Notes from a wildlife-friendly cottage garden

Vox Political

politics for the people

Destined2Roam

Life is 10% what happens to us and 90% how we react to it

analiensaturn

the daily planet,

nodighome

no dig gardening, seasonal cooking, permaculture, preserving, foraging, storing, crafting, home life

Digging Deep

The Green Prescription Allotment

Disappointed Idealist

Ranting from the chalkface

Wildlife & Eco Gardens

Bringing nature to life

Dogwooddays

Life and the Garden

This little life of mine.

Living the nightmare with a smile on my face.

ALT-POLITICS

Politics For The People

rogerfrancis

Changing Lives Through Learning

Unconventionally "normal"

Chronic illness blog to educate the world

Bert Fulks

Fall. Surrender. Restore. Rise. Repeat.

@PoliceGuvnor - The realities of policing

Follow me on Twitter @PoliceGuvnor

Stop Deforestation

Deforestation. Endangered Species.

Graham Wettone

Policing Commentator

The Patchwork Banana

life, love, nature, musings

Square Cop In A Round World

A former cop taking on tough subjects

In Saner Thought

"It is the duty of every man, as far as his ability extends, to detect and expose delusion and error"..Thomas Paine

Cops Against

Find Your Voice

The Secret Barrister

Independent Blogger of the Year, The Comment Awards 2016

Burn Punk London

Just another WordPress.com site

ianchisnall

My views on current issues

F.I.N.E.

Fucked In-pain Neurotic etc

The Hippy Geek

One woman's experience of balancing nature and nerd.

Depressed Detective

30 Year old UK Police Detective, with some Depression, Anxiety and Insomnia issues.

BSC Policing Network

Connecting Policing Researchers In The UK And Beyond

Gem's Things

My Things: stuff I've bought, things I've done, food I've eaten and places I've stayed.

Dave Throup

Environment Agency Manager for Herefordshire and Worcestershire

finnmackay

Feminist activist & researcher.

