My Bro Foxy

2 Aug

Image

I have been thinking about the past a lot in this last week. The feelings bereavement brought up about missing the complete acceptance that I found with my Biker chums. They weren’t saints by a long chalk but mostly they were blokes you could totally rely on to have your back. Once you were part of the group you knew that security of being. You didn’t have to be anyone special to be special. That suited me. I am not talking about the structured gang here but an outskirt.  The gangs were a slightly different ball game. I am talking about the lads you could go drinking with, the ones you could laugh and cry with. The ones you could have a damn good argument with that would end in blows yet be forgotten by the time your sweat had cooled only to wind up taking the mick out of each other and having a play wrestle and a laugh with.  Simple rules, don’t mess with their bikes, don’t nick their beer. That was it.

One of my best mates was Foxy a big lad with a shaved head and a bright red (ginger) beard.  He was tough and fair.  Had the most smiling eyes of green I’ve ever seen. A quick humour a strong sense of…how can I best phrase this? Natural justice and the strength to live by those values.  He was a kind of hero to me when I first started to move in those circles. Never overtly sexist but old fashioned in some views.  I had always been taken for myself except for one night.

We’d all been to the Ruskin Arms for a few pints, watched a live band and trolled down to The Log Cabin for mugs of tea and bacon butties.  I had made a new friend who had plucked up the courage to ask me out. Just thinking on it makes me smile but my eyes leak.  My new friend and I were there at the cabin already. Teas in butties cooking. We were sitting close to each other getting to know each other. Shy but a good feeling.  In stomped Foxy flicking his eyes round they alighted on my friend a new face.

Over he strolled my friend stood obviously nervous. He was wearing a flying jacket not black leathers. Foxy eyed him suspiciously and asked me what he was.  What not who! I was a bit miffed and boldly said my friend what about it?

Damn if he didn’t lift my friend up by the front of his jacket, hold him up against the wall. My friend’s face went weirdly white.  Foxy growled at him…you ever hurt a hair on her and you’re dead. I know he meant it. He meant it with every fibre of his being. He put my friend down and placed his order. I was furious though. How bloody dare he. My friend looked awful.  We left. Foxy turned back to watch us go. He shook his head and sighed.

He didn’t live much longer than that.  A bloke with a heart of gold.  When I am sad or feel no one cares about me I remember this incident and thank God for the short time I knew him. What an honourable bloke he was. Simple rules even though I hated him at that moment.

Miss him miss him loads

 

Gone but not forgotten

Jules

Leave a Reply

Grenfell Action Group

Working to defend and serve the Lancaster West community

gardeninacity

Notes from a wildlife-friendly cottage garden

Vox Political

politics for the people

Destined2Roam

Life is 10% what happens to us and 90% how we react to it

analiensaturn

the daily planet,

nodighome

no dig gardening, seasonal cooking, permaculture, preserving, foraging, storing, crafting, home life

Digging Deep

The Green Prescription Allotment

Disappointed Idealist

Ranting from the chalkface

Wildlife & Eco Gardens

Bringing nature to life

Dogwooddays

Life and the Garden

This little life of mine.

Living the nightmare with a smile on my face.

ALT-POLITICS

Politics For The People

rogerfrancis

Changing Lives Through Learning

Bert Fulks

Fall. Surrender. Restore. Rise. Repeat.

@PoliceGuvnor - The realities of policing

Follow me on Twitter or Facebook @PoliceGuvnor

Stop Deforestation

Deforestation. Endangered Species.

Graham Wettone

Policing Commentator

The Patchwork Banana

life, love, nature, musings

Square Cop In A Round World

A former cop taking on tough subjects

In Saner Thought

"It is the duty of every man, as far as his ability extends, to detect and expose delusion and error"..Thomas Paine

Cops Against

Find Your Voice

The Secret Barrister

Independent Blogger of the Year, The Comment Awards 2016

Burn Punk London

Just another WordPress.com site

ianchisnall

My views on current issues

F.I.N.E.

Fucked In-pain Neurotic etc

The Hippy Geek

One woman's experience of balancing nature and nerd.

The Militant Negro™

Poetry. Politics. Food. Art. Thoughts. Ideas. Opinions. Facts. Truth.

Depressed Detective

30 Year old UK Police Detective, with some Depression, Anxiety and Insomnia issues.

BSC Policing Network

Connecting Policing Researchers In The UK And Beyond

Gem's Things

My Things: stuff I've bought, things I've done, food I've eaten and places I've stayed.

Dave Throup

Environment Agency Manager for Herefordshire and Worcestershire

finnmackay

Feminist activist & researcher.

prisonscrew

Just another WordPress.com site

Britain Isn't Eating

The Tory Govn, killing the unemployed, the poor, vulnerable, sick & disabled since 2010.

Ex-PTSD Detective

Retired after thirty years in police. Will dedicate my time to assist all those suffering with PTSD. Will continue to expose the corruption that exists in British policing

SPeye Joe (Welfarewrites)

Joe Halewood writes about tenant and welfare wrongs

Walk a Mile in My Shoes

A walk around the edge of the UK making a noise about mental health

Badge415

The Human Side of Police Work

