#Freedom

22 May

Freedom life

For many weeks I have been contemplating the meaning of freedom for me…I’d love to be able to say I completely believe in the sentiments above.  I’ve come to realise more and more that it is only a partial reality.

As a small child of around 3yrs freedom meant climbing to the top of the old cherry tree at the bottom of the garden, hiding amongst the leaves of the thinnest branches completely out of the reach of my parents and my brother.

From 5yrs onwards my freedom was books, what would I have done without that escape I truly don’t know!

As a young teen freedom meant completely disappearing within my own mind closing off all my senses and all realities that I did not want to explore (dissociation).   As an older teen it meant climbing aboard my motorbike and just riding into the sunset mostly ending up at standing stones in remote places.

As a mother in my 20s those options no longer were available to me as I had begun to realise that MY freedom came at the expense of the ripples affecting my babies who needed me so I withdrew partially whenever I could into my worlds of literature and music.  When the children got older it was climbing in the craggy rocks of Derbyshire/Yorkshire.  You learn to *trade off* your desires because your decisions and desires impinge directly and indirectly on the lives of those around you…do you have the right to put your freedom first?

Incidentally this was also a convenient cop out to use to stay in an abusive partnership but that’s a whole different story.

What about freedom of thought then?  There is no such thing I believe! How can we have complete freedom of thought when we are surrounded by social conventions, cultural conventions and our own personal preferences?  It would be completely arrogant to think that they do not affect us either positively or negatively but we can make choices as best we can despite these things.

When some friends knew I was contemplating freedom I was sent a variety of quotes:

There are two freedoms-the false, where a man is free to do what he likes;the true,where he is free to do what he ought. Charles Kingsley.

They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety – Ben Franklin

There is much truth in them that aligns with my thoughts… Do we stay content  with the restrictions that our gvt or organisations place upon us when the dawning that true freedom is an oxymoron?  I don’t believe so… the onus is on us to do as much as we can to ensure that as many people as possible have as much freedom as is possible to live their lives in peace.

Some are silenced when they dare to try and inform people about the restrictions on their *freedoms* that are being placed upon them by our gvt and other institutions… My question is what happens when those who were silenced begin to shout?

freedom responsibility

What greater freedom do we have than to choose, within our limitations, to stand with those who would help us achieve this goal?

Howling wolf

My conclusion?  there is no true freedom yet let us fight together for the limited freedoms we have!

One Response to “#Freedom”

  1. Y. A. Bolton June 8, 2013 at 10:01 pm #

    Brilliant Jules, and much of what I think myself. Slowly but surely (and most are not even seeing this) our freedoms are being eroded away. And if those of us who are witnessing this, don’t speak out, for fear of being ridiculed or whatever, then we are just as guilty of doing nothing and we cannot use ignorance as an excuse! Much love to you xx

Leave a Reply

Grenfell Action Group

Working to defend and serve the Lancaster West community

gardeninacity

Notes from a wildlife-friendly cottage garden

Vox Political

politics for the people

Destined2Roam

Life is 10% what happens to us and 90% how we react to it

analiensaturn

the daily planet,

nodighome

no dig gardening, seasonal cooking, permaculture, preserving, foraging, storing, crafting, home life

Digging Deep

The Green Prescription Allotment

Disappointed Idealist

Ranting from the chalkface

Wildlife & Eco Gardens

Bringing nature to life

Dogwooddays

Life and the Garden

This little life of mine.

Living the nightmare with a smile on my face.

ALT-POLITICS

Politics For The People

rogerfrancis

Changing Lives Through Learning

Bert Fulks

Fall. Surrender. Restore. Rise. Repeat.

@PoliceGuvnor - The realities of policing

Follow me on Twitter or Facebook @PoliceGuvnor

Stop Deforestation

Deforestation. Endangered Species.

Graham Wettone

Policing Commentator

The Patchwork Banana

life, love, nature, musings

Square Cop In A Round World

A former cop taking on tough subjects

In Saner Thought

"It is the duty of every man, as far as his ability extends, to detect and expose delusion and error"..Thomas Paine

Cops Against

Find Your Voice

The Secret Barrister

Independent Blogger of the Year, The Comment Awards 2016

Burn Punk London

Just another WordPress.com site

ianchisnall

My views on current issues

F.I.N.E.

Fucked In-pain Neurotic etc

The Hippy Geek

One woman's experience of balancing nature and nerd.

The Militant Negro™

Poetry. Politics. Food. Art. Thoughts. Ideas. Opinions. Facts. Truth.

Depressed Detective

30 Year old UK Police Detective, with some Depression, Anxiety and Insomnia issues.

BSC Policing Network

Connecting Policing Researchers In The UK And Beyond

Gem's Things

My Things: stuff I've bought, things I've done, food I've eaten and places I've stayed.

Dave Throup

Environment Agency Manager for Herefordshire and Worcestershire

finnmackay

Feminist activist & researcher.

prisonscrew

Just another WordPress.com site

Britain Isn't Eating

The Tory Govn, killing the unemployed, the poor, vulnerable, sick & disabled since 2010.

Ex-PTSD Detective

Retired after thirty years in police. Will dedicate my time to assist all those suffering with PTSD. Will continue to expose the corruption that exists in British policing

SPeye Joe (Welfarewrites)

Joe Halewood writes about tenant and welfare wrongs

Walk a Mile in My Shoes

A walk around the edge of the UK making a noise about mental health

Badge415

The Human Side of Police Work

