#MayTheForceRemainAForce

4 May

Reverse graffitti

(image via @Ditchthelabel)

The other day @Cate_a_moore shared this image and it started off a train of thought in me…the main thought was:

to make something more palatable be creative as you remove…

This got me thinking about other things, in the main the infighting leading up to the Police Fed Conference 14th-16th May.  Not strictly any of my business: that’s never stopped me yet because I care. It also feeds into my feeling that Police want the support and understanding of the Public but are not very good at receiving any of our thoughts unless it is on their terms generally!  I have spoken more about that in a previous blogs which you can read here:  https://julieanneda.wordpress.com/2013/01/22/14/ ‎

https://julieanneda.wordpress.com/2013/02/23/encouragementsuperficiality/

https://julieanneda.wordpress.com/2013/04/26/shapeshifter/

I have no illusions that my knowledge and understanding of what is happening is pathetically minor, I’m just giving my personal impressions from a position of love.

I know that there were elections for a new Fed Chair and  Steve Williams was elected…his pre conference statement can be read here:

I know that the Fed is made up of  Constables, Sergeants and Inspectors.
I know that Constables make up more than a third of the membership and that they are unhappy that they do not get more than a third of the say, so much so that they are withholding  funds.  I do not know what that means in practice.  I know that many feel the Fed has rolled over and not fought for them.  I know that many Feds are at the end of their tethers trying to find a way through all this and that they acknowledge things DO need to change.
I know that it is illegal for the Police to have a Union so the bargaining powers of the Fed are severely limited.  I KNOW they are all working really hard are demoralised by the negativity directed at them both personally and professionally and I KNOW that they all have their members interests at heart whether their members believe this of not.  It is tragic how little I know isn’t it?
Many Police may be thinking “Why the hell is she talking about all this, it’s none of her business”  I have a stake in the Police remaining a non privatised force.  I wish the office of constable to be a continued reality.  I want your pay and conditions to be of a decent standard so there is no temptation to go back to the 70s/80s where there was corruption.  I NEED you to be unified so that you are strong enough to do this!  My children and their children NEED you to be strong enough to do this.  Let’s face it YOU NEED to be strong enough to do this!
I have struggled to understand how anyone with a rational mind would think that splitting solves anything.  Smaller IS weaker when opposing the government’s edicts.  You all know that this government has an agenda to attack and destroy you.  You all know the media is playing a part in this as well.  My point is that at the moment you are playing the starring role in your own demise!
How hollow these words are:
“I will always back you, I will always support you, I will always fight for you”  Theresa May 2010
What was the point of the heading picture?  Well, sometimes it is easier to change things by thinking  differently and acting creatively.  The march last May was a show of strength which was met with dismissive indifference.  Therefore a new way needs to be found.
Most of you are used to dealing with angry people…do you listen to what they are saying when they are up in your face or do you wait for them to be calm and more rational if at all possible?
I have faith in the will and ability of you all to find a way through all this.  Looking at the way Austerity has affected the rest of Europe there will most likely be trouble brewing in the next few months…Election isn’t until 2015.  As sad as this is people are hurting , they will lash out at you, perceiving you to be the Governments agents.  Statements like *Police State* will be used.
Is it the time to be splitting and adding further internal division when you need to have no doubts you have each other’s backs?
Please, please think on the things I have said.  Anger is understandable and necessary…thinking BEYOND that is vital for us all.
Jules x
Leave a Reply

Pain Pals

My family & friends living with me.....and chronic illness

craftyinsomniac

A disabled insomniac who crafts!!!!

susanlarsonauthor

The pretty good books of Susan Larson

We won! But the battle's not over

Once a nurses' countdown to the 2014 Victorian election, now a periodic blog on matters health, union, social justice, and the occasional random rant

JimHind

Where discussion starts.....

thechattyzebra

Discovering we don't think inside the box or outside the box. We don't even know where the box is

Embrace The Brace

How To Live With Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome

Discordant Daydream

A vent of life's problems and delights

Grenfell Action Group

Working to defend and serve the Lancaster West community

gardeninacity

Notes from a wildlife-friendly cottage garden

Vox Political

politics for the people

Destined2Roam

Life is 10% what happens to us and 90% how we react to it

analiensaturn

the daily planet,

nodighome

no dig gardening, seasonal cooking, permaculture, preserving, foraging, storing, crafting, home life

Digging Deep

The Green Prescription Allotment

Disappointed Idealist

Ranting from the chalkface

Wildlife & Eco Gardens

Bringing nature to life

Dogwooddays

Life and the Garden

This little life of mine.

Living the nightmare with a smile on my face.

ALT-POLITICS

Politics For The People

rogerfrancis

Changing Lives Through Learning

Unconventionally "normal"

Chronic illness blog to educate the world

Bert Fulks

Fall. Surrender. Restore. Rise. Repeat.

@PoliceGuvnor - The realities of policing

Follow me on Twitter @PoliceGuvnor

Stop Deforestation

Deforestation. Endangered Species.

Graham Wettone

Policing Commentator

The Patchwork Banana

life, love, nature, musings

Square Cop In A Round World

A former cop taking on tough subjects

In Saner Thought

"It is the duty of every man, as far as his ability extends, to detect and expose delusion and error"..Thomas Paine

Cops Against

Find Your Voice

The Secret Barrister

Independent Blogger of the Year, The Comment Awards 2016

Burn Punk London

Just another WordPress.com site

ianchisnall

My views on current issues

F.I.N.E.

Fucked In-pain Neurotic etc

The Hippy Geek

One woman's experience of balancing nature and nerd.

Depressed Detective

30 Year old UK Police Detective, with some Depression, Anxiety and Insomnia issues.

BSC Policing Network

Connecting Policing Researchers In The UK And Beyond

Gem's Things

My Things: stuff I've bought, things I've done, food I've eaten and places I've stayed.

Dave Throup

Environment Agency Manager for Herefordshire and Worcestershire

finnmackay

Feminist activist & researcher.

