#Can’t?

3 Apr

wolfinsheep

Those that know me on Twitter know that I am usually a fairly encouraging person (I hope!)  I am also someone who suffers with depression…

The last few weeks have been such as this, almost completely black.  I am open about how I think and feel but keep far more contained than I have ever shared in my blogs.  This does not mean that I do not visit those thoughts and events I just choose not to air them.

If  you have read my personal blogs you will have realised that I’m not one for being conquered even by the most dreadful of foes: myself.

Today I had a conversation, actually it was more one sided than that 😉 with      someone I call friend.  They said the *can’t* word to me.  I immediately regaled my friend with examples of how this was not true.   This got me to thinking  (yeah, I know, always a bad thing for you lot!) about how I say *can’t* to myself  so often.

How hypocritical those negative automatic thoughts are!  How self indulgent to sit in a pit and think them… it woke me up!  So thank you friend!     You say you can’t communicate?  Well that sentence in itself has set off a chain reaction in me!

I have been despairing of the governments changes to our Welfare System, the fact that our rights are eroded and we CAN’T do anything about it.  The Fed creeps into my thoughts, Winsor and the Police *reforms*  Boris and his   cuts to the Fire Service all manner of things we CAN’T change.   Then the truth dawned on me…WE CAN!   Each of us can do something, it may not be immediate we may have to wait for the Polling Box but we CAN all CARE.  That’s something valuable in a society that is trying to neutralise that emotion isn’t it?

Can't
Edgar Guest - 1916 - A Heap o' Livin'

Can't is the worst word that's written or spoken;
Doing more harm here than slander and lies;
On it is many a strong spirit broken,
And with it many a good purpose dies.
It springs from the lips of the thoughtless each morning
And robs us of courage we need through the day;
It rings in our ears like a timely sent warning
And laughs when we falter and fall by the way.

Can't is the father of feeble endeavor,
The parent of terror and halfhearted work;
It weakens the efforts of artisans clever,
And makes of the toiler an indolent shirk.
It poisons the soul of the man with a vision,
It stifles in infancy many a plan;
It greets honest toiling with open derision
And mocks at the hopes and the dreams of a man.

Can't is a word none should speak without blushing;
To utter it should be a symbol of shame;
Ambition and courage it daily is crushing;
It blights a man's purpose and shortens his aim.
Despise it with all of your hatred of error;
Refuse it the lodgement it seeks in your brain;
Arm against it as a creature of terror,
And all that you dream of you someday shall gain.

Can't is the word that is foe to ambition
An enemy ambushed to shatter your will;
Its prey is forever the man with a mission
And bows but to courage and patience and skill.
Hate it, with hatred that's deep and undying,
For once it is welcomed 'twill break any man;
Whatever the goal you are seeking, keep trying
And answer this demon by saying: "I can."




 

Then I remembered the poem above, so that is what I want to leave you with.

I CAN!

Say it too!

Jules 🙂

One Response to “#Can’t?”

  1. Helen April 3, 2013 at 6:19 pm #

    Beautifully put Jules. There are so many bloggers suffering from depression it’s almost unbelievable and their honesty makes it easier for those others who also suffer. Thankyou!

Leave a Reply

Grenfell Action Group

Working to defend and serve the Lancaster West community

gardeninacity

Notes from a wildlife-friendly cottage garden

Vox Political

politics for the people

Destined2Roam

Life is 10% what happens to us and 90% how we react to it

analiensaturn

the daily planet,

nodighome

no dig gardening, seasonal cooking, permaculture, preserving, foraging, storing, crafting, home life

Digging Deep

The Green Prescription Allotment

Disappointed Idealist

Ranting from the chalkface

Wildlife & Eco Gardens

Bringing nature to life

Dogwooddays

Life and the Garden

This little life of mine.

Living the nightmare with a smile on my face.

ALT-POLITICS

Politics For The People

rogerfrancis

Changing Lives Through Learning

Bert Fulks

Fall. Surrender. Restore. Rise. Repeat.

@PoliceGuvnor - The realities of policing

Follow me on Twitter or Facebook @PoliceGuvnor

Stop Deforestation

Deforestation. Endangered Species.

Graham Wettone

Policing Commentator

The Patchwork Banana

life, love, nature, musings

Square Cop In A Round World

A former cop taking on tough subjects

In Saner Thought

"It is the duty of every man, as far as his ability extends, to detect and expose delusion and error"..Thomas Paine

Cops Against

Find Your Voice

The Secret Barrister

Independent Blogger of the Year, The Comment Awards 2016

Burn Punk London

Just another WordPress.com site

ianchisnall

My views on current issues

F.I.N.E.

Fucked In-pain Neurotic etc

The Hippy Geek

One woman's experience of balancing nature and nerd.

The Militant Negro™

Poetry. Politics. Food. Art. Thoughts. Ideas. Opinions. Facts. Truth.

Depressed Detective

30 Year old UK Police Detective, with some Depression, Anxiety and Insomnia issues.

BSC Policing Network

Connecting Policing Researchers In The UK And Beyond

Gem's Things

My Things: stuff I've bought, things I've done, food I've eaten and places I've stayed.

Dave Throup

Environment Agency Manager for Herefordshire and Worcestershire

finnmackay

Feminist activist & researcher.

prisonscrew

Just another WordPress.com site

Britain Isn't Eating

The Tory Govn, killing the unemployed, the poor, vulnerable, sick & disabled since 2010.

Ex-PTSD Detective

Retired after thirty years in police. Will dedicate my time to assist all those suffering with PTSD. Will continue to expose the corruption that exists in British policing

SPeye Joe (Welfarewrites)

Joe Halewood writes about tenant and welfare wrongs

Walk a Mile in My Shoes

A walk around the edge of the UK making a noise about mental health

Badge415

The Human Side of Police Work

